Where Does a 2-Capsule NMN + NR Serving Sit in the Trials?
Five of the nine NMN trials we checked used 250 mg a day, and the highest NMN dose was 2,000 mg a day for 28 days. A two-capsule serving of our NMN + NR formula gives 500 mg of NMN and 200 mg of NR once a day. Both amounts fall between doses that human trials tested, but no trial has tested this formula.
The short answer
A two-capsule serving gives 500 mg of NMN and 200 mg of nicotinamide riboside (NR) once a day. The NMN falls between the 300 mg and 600 mg groups of the three-dose NMN trial. The NR falls between the 100 mg and 300 mg groups of an eight-week NR trial.
Human trials have tested doses on both sides of each number. None tested this formula, and none tested two servings of it.
Most NMN trials used 250 mg a day, so one serving of this formula is double that dose. The highest NMN dose in the trials we checked was 2,000 mg a day, for 28 days.
Check the milligrams per serving, the NR salt, and whether the bottle comes with a lot-specific certificate of analysis.
Why isn't the answer simple?
Two questions hide inside "how much should I take." What did people in trials actually take? And does a higher blood reading mean anything a person can feel? The trials answer the first with numbers. The second is much less clear.
NMN is not a food in any useful amount. Yoshino et al. (2021) estimated that a normal diet likely supplies less than 2 mg of NMN a day. Edamame, broccoli, and meat carry about 1 mg per 100 grams, according to the Igarashi group. A capsule therefore delivers a dose no ordinary meal can.
The human results also disagree. Yoshino et al. (2021) found better insulin sensitivity in muscle, while Yi et al. (2022) and Pencina et al. (2023) found no change in the insulin measures they used. Every NMN trial here that measured blood NAD+ reported a rise, but a blood measure is a lab result. Our NAD+ guide explains what NAD+ does before the dose question matters.
What did the NMN trials use, and for how long?
Nine NMN trials are below. Five used 250 mg a day, and eight ran four to twelve weeks. The NMN monograph covers the ingredient itself, with its safety and interaction notes.
| Study | NMN per day | Length | Who | What changed | Adverse events |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yoshino 2021 | 250 mg | 10 weeks | 25 postmenopausal women with prediabetes | Muscle insulin sensitivity up about 25%; no change on placebo | None reported |
| Okabe 2022 | 250 mg | 12 weeks | 30 healthy adults | Whole-blood NAD+ up | No obvious adverse effects |
| Igarashi 2022 | 250 mg | 6 and 12 weeks | 42 men aged 65 and older; a supplier error at week 6 swapped products for 22; 20 completed | Whole-blood NAD+ up; nominal gains in gait speed and left grip, to be validated; body composition unchanged | No serious events |
| Katayoshi 2023 | 250 mg (125 mg twice daily) | 12 weeks | 36 middle-aged adults | Blood NAD+ metabolites up; arterial stiffness not significantly different from placebo | None reported |
| Liao 2021 | 300, 600, or 1,200 mg | 6 weeks | 48 recreationally trained runners | Oxygen uptake and power at the ventilatory thresholds rose more at 600 and 1,200 mg than in controls; peak oxygen uptake did not differ | Not stated in abstract |
| Akasaka 2023 | 250 mg | 24 weeks | 14 men, average age 81, with diabetes and low grip or walking speed | No difference from placebo in grip or walking speed | No severe events |
| Yi 2022 | 300, 600, or 900 mg | 60 days | 80 middle-aged adults | Blood NAD+ highest at 600 and 900 mg; six-minute walk longer than placebo at all three doses | No safety issues found |
| Pencina 2023 | 2,000 mg (two 500 mg tablets, twice daily) | 28 days | 30 adults aged 45 and older, overweight or obese | Blood NAD+ up; body weight, LDL cholesterol, and diastolic pressure fell more than placebo | Similar between groups |
| Fukamizu 2022 | 1,250 mg | Up to 4 weeks | 31 healthy adults aged 20 to 65 | Safety study; blood and body measures within normal variation | Five events, none judged related |
Yi et al. (2022) compared three doses in one trial. Eighty middle-aged adults took placebo or 300, 600, or 900 mg of NMN daily for 60 days. Blood NAD+ was highest at 600 and 900 mg, and six-minute walk distance grew more than placebo at every dose. Several authors work for chemical or biotech companies, and a walk test is a short functional measure, so treat the walking result as a signal.
Pencina et al. (2023) gave 2,000 mg of NMN a day for 28 days to 30 overweight or obese adults, randomized two to one against placebo. The abstract says adverse events were similar between groups without listing them. Blood NAD+ rose substantially, and body weight, diastolic pressure, and LDL cholesterol fell more than placebo. Five authors are affiliated with Metro International Biotech, the source of the MIB-626 compound.
Fukamizu et al. (2022) tested 1,250 mg a day for up to four weeks in 31 healthy adults. Blood and body measures stayed within normal variation, and five adverse events were reported, none judged related to the product. Five of the six authors are affiliated with Mitsubishi Corporation Life Sciences, which manufactured the NMN. Four weeks says nothing about longer use.
What did the NR trials test, and what changed?
Eight NR trials with dose data are below. Doses ran from 100 to 3,000 mg a day. Conze et al. (2019) compared three doses within one trial.
| Study | NR per day | Length | Who | What changed | Adverse events |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conze 2019 | 100, 300, or 1,000 mg | 8 weeks | 140 overweight adults, 35 per group | Whole-blood NAD+ up 22%, 51%, and 142% within two weeks; the rise held | 95 events in 61 people; none serious; no flushing |
| Dellinger 2017 | 250 mg or 500 mg, each with pterostilbene | 8 weeks | 120 adults aged 60 to 80 | NAD+ up about 40% (250 mg) and 90% (500 mg) at day 30; the 250 mg rise held near 40% at day 60 | 66 events, none serious; five in the 500 mg arm judged possibly or probably related |
| Martens 2018 | 500 mg twice daily (1,000 mg) | 6 weeks per period, crossover | 30 adults aged 55 to 79 | Immune-cell NAD+ about 60% above placebo | 14 mild events in 7 of 30 people; none serious |
| Elhassan 2019 | 1,000 mg | 21 days, crossover | 12 older men | Muscle NAD+ metabolites up; circulating inflammatory cytokines down | Not stated in abstract |
| Remie 2020 | 1,000 mg | 6 weeks, crossover | 13 overweight or obese adults | Fat-free mass share of body weight 62.65% on NR versus 61.32% on placebo (P = 0.02); insulin sensitivity unchanged | Not stated in abstract |
| Dollerup 2018 | 1,000 mg twice daily (2,000 mg) | 12 weeks | 40 men with BMI above 30 | No improvement in insulin sensitivity | No serious events; safety blood tests normal |
| Brakedal 2022 | 1,000 mg | 30 days | 30 newly diagnosed adults with Parkinson's disease, randomized | Cerebral NAD+ rose, variably; the authors linked larger brain rises to mild clinical improvement | Well tolerated, per the abstract |
| Berven 2023 | 1,500 mg twice daily (3,000 mg) | 4 weeks | 20 adults with Parkinson's disease, randomized 1:1 | Whole-blood NAD+ metabolome up to five-fold; the MDS-UPDRS improvement was also linked to time since levodopa | No moderate or severe adverse events; mild events not different from placebo |
Trammell et al. (2016) gave single doses of 100, 300, and 1,000 mg and found a dose-dependent rise in blood NAD+ metabolites. That was a timing study, not a daily regimen. Christen et al. (2026) gave NR, NMN, or nicotinamide to 65 healthy adults for 14 days. NR and NMN raised circulating NAD+ by comparable amounts, and nicotinamide affected it only briefly. The full text gives the dose: 1,000 mg a day of NR or NMN for 14 days. Several NR trials have company authors: ChromaDex (Conze), Elysium Health (Dellinger), and Nestlé Research (Christen).
How strong is the evidence for each outcome?
Grades use the hub's four levels, one per outcome.
- Blood NAD+ rise from NMN: Strong. Five or more randomized trials point the same way.
- Blood NAD+ rise from NR: Strong. Four randomized trials point the same way: Conze, Martens, Dellinger, and Elhassan.
- Insulin sensitivity: Insufficient. Results conflict. Yoshino found a rise with NMN, while Yi, Pencina, Dollerup, and Remie found none.
- Walking, strength, and fitness: Preliminary. Small trials with mixed results. Akasaka et al. found no change in grip or walking speed.
- Short-term tolerability: Moderate. Short trials report no serious events at the doses tested, including 1,250 mg of NMN for four weeks and 2,000 mg of NR for 12 weeks. A four-week trial of 3,000 mg of NR a day in 20 people with Parkinson's disease reported no moderate or severe adverse events. None ran longer than 24 weeks, and the largest sample was 140 people.
- Lifespan or disease outcomes: Insufficient. No trial here measured lifespan. Two small phase I Parkinson's trials (Brakedal 2022, Berven 2023) reported clinical improvement, but both were designed to test safety, so they cannot show a disease effect.
Where does one serving sit?
| Question | Trial dose | This serving | Reading |
|---|---|---|---|
| NMN at the most common trial dose | 250 mg (five trials) | 500 mg | Double. Inside the 300 to 900 mg range of the three-dose trial. |
| NMN at the doses with the highest blood NAD+ | 600 and 900 mg (Yi 2022) | 500 mg | Below 600 mg. Yi et al. did not test 500 mg. |
| NR at the Conze dose ladder | 100, 300, and 1,000 mg | 200 mg | Between 100 mg and 300 mg. |
| NR at the Dellinger recommended dose | 250 mg, with pterostilbene | 200 mg | 50 mg lower, and that trial included pterostilbene. |
| NMN and NR together | No randomized human trial found in our PubMed search | Both in one serving | No direct evidence for the pair. |
| Two servings a day | Up to 2,000 mg NMN (28 days); up to 3,000 mg NR (four weeks) | 1,000 mg NMN and 400 mg NR | Not tested in this formula. We do not recommend more than the label serving. |
The NMN comparison is clear. The NR comparison is harder. No trial tested 200 mg, and the NR salt in the trials may differ from the one in this bottle.
How do you take it?
The label reads: "Take 2 capsules daily, as a dietary supplement." Servings per container: 30, so each 60-capsule bottle is a 30-day supply. At $59.99 for 30 servings, that is $2.00 a day. Three points follow.
- Stay at one serving a day. Every NMN trial at 1,000 mg or more ran six weeks or less, and none tested this formula.
- Count zinc from every source. Each serving has 10 mg. The adult upper limit is 40 mg a day from all sources. The Recommended Dietary Allowance is 11 mg for men and 8 mg for women, per the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements zinc fact sheet.
- Keep the lot number. A lot certificate shows what that batch measured. A general "third-party tested" badge may not say what that batch measured.
When should you ask someone first?
The label says: "Ask your healthcare practitioner before use if you are pregnant, nursing, taking medication, or have a medical condition." The trials were small and enrolled selected groups of adults, so they cannot show how this formula behaves alongside your medications. The adverse event column in each table lists what that study reported. Liao, Elhassan, and Remie did not report adverse events in their abstracts.
What is in the product?
Our NMN + NR with Resveratrol and TMG lists these amounts per two-capsule serving: 500 mg β-nicotinamide mononucleotide, 200 mg nicotinamide riboside, 250 mg resveratrol, 50 mg TMG, 50 mg Bioperine®, and 10 mg zinc as bisglycinate chelate. The NMN form is named. The NR salt is not. The two trials here that name their NR form used nicotinamide riboside chloride, sold as NIAGEN (Conze 2019; Martens 2018). A salt adds weight, so ask the brand which form is in the bottle. The product page links a lot-specific certificate of analysis. This article did not read that certificate.
How do you compare two labels?
Check three things: milligrams of each precursor per serving (not the blend weight), the form (β-NMN for NMN, the named salt for NR), and a lot-specific certificate of analysis. A 2024 test of NMN and urolithin A products found content from 28.6% above the label to 100% below it (Sandalova et al. 2024). A certificate for the batch you buy is the check that can catch that gap. Our buying guide ranks seven products.
Next reads
- NAD+ and Cellular Energy: The Complete Guide: the pillar, for what NAD+ does and why levels change with age.
- NMN monograph: the ingredient page, covering how NMN works and its evidence.
- Best NMN + NR Supplements in the US (2026 Buyer's Guide): the seven products it ranks.
Related reading
- The history of the NAD+ precursor trials, in order
- Whether NAD+ precursors change biological age, clock by clock
- the registry census of every NMN, NR and urolithin A trial
- the NR monograph, with its own trial list
- NMN versus NR: how the two precursors differ
- how to read an NMN or NR label
The Bottom Line
Stick to the label serving: two capsules a day. Its 500 mg of NMN falls between two doses that human trials tested, and its 200 mg of NR falls between two more. Higher doses raised blood NAD+ further in some trials, but no trial has tested this formula, or two servings of it. Check the milligrams per serving, whether the label names the NR salt, and look for a lot-specific certificate. If you take medication, or are pregnant or nursing, ask your healthcare practitioner first.
Related Products
NMN + NR with Resveratrol and TMG – NAD+ & Cellular Energy Support | 60 Capsules
$59.99
FAQ
What NMN doses have human trials tested, and for how long?
Four trials used 250 mg a day for up to 12 weeks (Yoshino 2021, Okabe 2022, Igarashi 2022, Katayoshi 2023). Yi et al. (2022) tested 300, 600, and 900 mg for 60 days. Liao et al. (2021) gave 300 to 1,200 mg for six weeks, and Pencina et al. (2023) gave 2,000 mg a day for 28 days. Akasaka et al. (2023) gave 250 mg for 24 weeks to 14 men. The table above lists each study.
What NR doses have human trials tested, and what did each change?
Conze et al. (2019) tested 100, 300, and 1,000 mg a day for eight weeks, raising whole-blood NAD+ 22%, 51%, and 142%. Dellinger et al. (2017) tested 250 mg and 500 mg with pterostilbene, raising NAD+ about 40% and 90% at day 30. Martens et al. (2018) gave 1,000 mg a day for six weeks and found immune-cell NAD+ about 60% above placebo. Dollerup et al. (2018) gave 2,000 mg a day for 12 weeks without changing insulin sensitivity.
Do the trials support taking two servings a day?
No trial tested this formula at two servings. Two servings would mean 1,000 mg of NMN, 400 mg of NR, 500 mg of resveratrol, and 20 mg of zinc a day. Three NMN trials used 1,000 mg or more, each with NMN alone, and no NR trial in the table used 400 mg a day. We do not recommend more than the label serving, which is two capsules a day.
What is the highest NMN dose with published human safety data?
In the trials we checked, it is 2,000 mg a day for 28 days (Pencina et al. 2023). The abstract says adverse events were similar between the NMN and placebo groups, but it does not list them. Fukamizu et al. (2022) tested 1,250 mg a day for up to four weeks in 31 adults, reported five adverse events, and judged none related to the product. Neither study ran longer than four weeks at its top dose, so long-term safety at these doses is unknown.
Why do most trials run four to twelve weeks?
Blood NAD+ responds within weeks, so short trials can measure it. The longest NMN trial here ran 24 weeks in 14 men. It was tolerable without severe adverse events, and it found no difference from placebo in grip strength or walking speed. The Dellinger trial added a 30-day follow-up after people stopped taking the product. Nothing in this list tells you about a year or more, or about lifespan, since no trial measured lifespan.
How should I compare two labels?
Check milligrams per serving of each precursor, the form (beta-NMN for NMN, the named salt for NR), and whether the bottle has a lot-specific certificate of analysis. Our label lists 500 mg of beta-NMN and 200 mg of nicotinamide riboside per two capsules, names no NR salt, and links a lot certificate. A 2024 test of NMN and urolithin A products found content from 28.6% above the label to 100% below it (Sandalova et al. 2024).
Is there a human trial of NMN and NR together?
Not in our search. We searched PubMed for randomized human trials that gave NMN and NR together, and none gave both in one arm. The nearest study is Christen et al. (2026), which gave NR, NMN, or nicotinamide separately to 65 healthy adults for 14 days. NR and NMN raised circulating NAD+ by comparable amounts. Any benefit from taking both is therefore a mechanistic idea until someone tests the pair.